Melanie DeMore

We had a glorious weekend. On Saturday we finally saw the best film of 2016, “Moonlight,” and we felt it deserves every accolade it has received and then some. Exquisite film. Deeply sensitive and beautifully filmed. 

Then on Sunday we saw the performer you see here, Melanie DeMore. She uses many rhythms, including some taken from the people known as “Gullah.” The Gullah are descended from slaves born in West Africa and have preserved a language and musical culture that is important to the history of music in the USA. I found her style, her energy, and her voice compelling and unforgettable. If I could afford the clothing and shoes she wears so elegantly, I would dress exactly as she does. Maybe in my next life.

I posted a blip Monday based on my reading of some poems by Ellen Bass and some introspection, but later I deleted that blip because I felt the text I posted failed to communicate the irony and layered humor that I intended. So now it’s Tuesday, and I’m posting this portrait of Melanie DeMore before Sue and I leave town for a few days. We won’t have wifi unless we happen to have time to hang out in a coffee shop, so I don’t know if I’ll do any blipping till we return. 

A friend in France has asked me to post pictures of Sea Stars (Starfish) if we see any, since there has been some mysterious malady killing them in the last few years. I will if I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.