Fagbreak (hers) in Sunlight (ours)

Thanks to unexpected cancellations, I treated myself to a day of rest today. Apart from waiting in line with my car to pay $172  to have its emissions checked (passed the test) and renew the registration, I have done nothing much. I looked out the window at a rare blue sky, watched shadows and sunsplash spill across my legs, fiddled on Facebook, and read/viewed the “Vision & Justice” edition of Aperture magazine, published in Summer 2016, dedicated to “photography of the black experience.” It’s a truly exciting collection of essays and photographs. Editor Sarah Lewis writes, “It is the artist who knows what images need to be seen to affect change and alter history, to shine a spotlight in ways that will result in sustained attention.” May that be so. 

Tonight Bella and Evan will join me for an evening of reading, eating, and play. I leave you with a poem written by an anarchist-activist friend currently living in New Mexico:

there is no authority.
there is no protection.
there is only love
standing in an empty river bed.
--Sasha.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.