Alaska

By Alaska

To the Bell Tower

Three friends and I went to the village of Teotitlán del Valle, which is famous for its wool rug weavers. We were visiting their beautiful church, and the caretaker asked if we would like to go up in the bell tower. Of course! We wound our way up this narrow spiral staircase to one of two bell towers. A few minutes later another man ascended and began ringing the bells.Two friends were on the roof, but two of us were in the tower, about 4 feet from two of the bells. (extra photo)
I know no words to describe how loud this was, and it lasted for at least 15 minutes, as there was a special ringing "for the departed." The man, who stood right next to me, had one rope tied to the bell in the photo, a long rope tied to the bell in the second tower and around his waist, and pushed the third bell with his hand. 
One friend has a photo of Ingrid and me laughing with our fingers stuck deep into our ears! The ringer had no ear protection (I have never seen one that did), and I can't imagine the condition of his hearing! 
A once in a lifetime experience. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.