secret garden

By freespiral

Hen House

It being International Women's Day, and the rain having eased a little, this International woman needed an adventure! Poor Himself has come down with a chest infection and is very croaky, so I headed off to Whiddy Island on my own, two somewhat obscure wells in my sights. The journey across to the island takes about 15 minutes, it was me and a dog named Rex going out today! Rex couldn't believe his luck that he got  a stroke. I asked the ferryman, T, if he knew about the wells - I showed him where one was and he exclaimed that it was in the field next to his house and he knew where it was for he had nearly fallen into it some weeks previously. Sadly it had since been filled in but he would show me the site for he was also the postman and about to do his rounds. He would take me! Island cars are always interesting for you don't need an MOT. His was pretty posh as they go but the one that we towed to get started with a very slender bit of string, complete with Rex the dog,  was not. The well was in an exceptionally boggy field which required skidding down a ditch then up again the other side. T pointed me in the right direction, told me he had to attend to some cattle then would be back.  Instructions were eventually given from the car, the well now just a sad jumble of slates.
Back in the car I was taken to the next drop off point, told to go along the strand until I could see the castle, then head north down towards the sea for 500m and there would be the next well.  There was no path, just rocky strand and two swans and it was further than I had remembered. The castle is on a drumlin and is just a small stack of wall now and the surrounding area was extremely boggy though I did see a hare. Once up high, I then had to go down again until I reached the sea. Several possible sites but nothing definite and when I looked at my phone I saw I had just half an hour to get back for the return ferry. And the tide was now in - thank goodness for wellies.
Not only does T run the ferry and deliver the post, he also runs the only pub on the island and the local residents were looking hopeful! I got a most welcome cup of coffee.
I shall have to return for Whiddy, home to 26 people, is fascinating. I didn't have time to visit the old church or the numerous enormous Napoleonic batteries though I did zoom into the abandoned school and glance briefly at the concrete bases of the WW1 American seaplane hangars!!

Last night's film The Innocents was excellent. It was harrowing but understated and ultimately compassion and love won through. Based on a true story, it was set in 1945 at the end of the Second World War. Nuns in a Polish convent had been brutally raped and abused by Russian soldiers which resulted in many of them becoming pregnant. The film explored the complexities of feelings and attitudes towards this as they were assisted secretly by a young woman doctor with the Red Cross. Beautifully filmed, all chilly greys, snowy whites and raven blacks, the two main characters  were luminous in their acting. recommended.

Book club tonight - we shall be discussing The Wonder by Emma Donoghue - a wonderful book , set in 19C Ireland about a young girl who stops eating and believes she is living off manna from heaven. An English nurse, fresh from the Crimea is sent to tend her......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.