NellyO

By NellyO

Quince

How exciting is this? The flowering quince I bought and planted just a few weeks ago (so I wasn't expecting any flowers or fruit till next year) already has two fruit! It's still a small plant so I don't think I'll be making any wine or jam from this lot, but I'm so pleased it seems to be thriving already. Unlike my blackberry I planted earlier this year, which has been overtaken by bushes and so is in permanent shade, it does have a few berries but they've refused for weeks and weeks to go beyond green :(

I know it looks like there is a little creature already feeding off this fruit, which is another reason why I won't be eating it! But nevertheless I am very excited that I haven't completely lost my green fingers :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.