*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

What a weirdo

I guess it's things like this that make me into a bit of an oddity. I see this lock in the toilets at work every day and am always drawn to the patent number and wonder what, who, why and when. Anyway, I decided to just look it up today, not actually thinking for one moment that I'd be able to find anything. How wrong I was!

431,583. "Engaged" and like indicators. ROWLEY, Ltd., W., and SANEY, J., 53, Allesley Street, Aston Road, Birming- ham. Jan. 25, 1934 No. 2562. [Class 118 (i)] An " engaged " or like indicator plate 29 for a door is moved vertically to display selected indications at a casing aperture 31 by the sliding movement of the door bolt 6 which has rack teeth 14 adapted to rotate a pinion shaft 17 which in turn rotates a shaft 24 carrying a cam 28 positively engaging flanges 32 on the indicator plate. The indications may be marked on a celluloid sheet 33 secured by turned-over portions 34 of the plate 29. Resilient tongues on the casing bear on the sliding bolt 6.

I can die happy now and don't need to wonder about it any more ;)

Felt upset about something at work today, which quickly turned to frustration and anger. I need to learn to say "no". And then when I've learned how to say that word, I need to learn how to not feel bad about saying it.

I start my self-esteem and assertiveness course tomorrow. I'm terribly nervous but optimistic at the same time. I keep reminding myself that I'm a grown woman and am going of my own free will! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.