Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Crocuses at Jubilee Wood

As predicted there was no sunshine first thing, so I popped out to a local nature area at lunchtime, mainly in the hope of capturing some images. I'd noticed a couple of men beavering away, while I walked around and I got chatting to them as I was leaving.  I was aware that the land was owned by the council I work for, but Keri and Gary are part of a community group called, The Friends of Bilbrook and they volunteer to keep this and other areas around the village in good condition.  Certainly with the squeeze on council funding, if it were not for people like them volunteering and working really hard to keep these areas attractive for other people to enjoy, they would soon get overgrown.  I am sure this scenario is repeated all over the country.

We had a great chat and i've been happy to offer some photographs of the area for their use on their website.  And I'll certainly be popping back as they've planted a wildflower meadow that I'm assured will be a riot of colour later in the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.