Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Losing Balance

It felt like a lightbulb moment.  No, not the image of this little dunnock losing it's balance on the feeder but the final realisation of how useful the new Lightroom CC might be.  

I'd been quite suspicious of the 'new kid on the block'.  I was an early adopter of the original Lightroom (v1.0), from those days where it really was desperately slow and cumbersome, to now when it is a cornerstone of my workflow.  So much so that when it was renamed Lightroom Classic I really began to wonder how much longer it would be around.  Anyway, I just ignored the new version for a while, waiting to see how others considered it.  Recently, I've been watching a tutorial which explains the new 'ecosystem' around Lightroom (both versions) and the Creative Cloud.  I'm going to nail my colours to the mast, I'm impressed.

Despite being a devotee of desktop working, there are occasions where a 'light' solution would be really useful.  Travelling for example.  By the way, many thanks for all of the useful advice about travelling with camera equipment on long haul, it was really appreciated and there are some gems amongst your comments.  

Anyway, I've got to have a way of processing images while on the trip.  Up to now that has been a laptop, with its own version of [Old] Lightroom, processing the images each day and then the laborious task of transferring everything (via exporting/importing catalogs) onto my home based Mac.

Well, with the introduction of [New] Lightroom CC you can use it to import your images while travelling and, as if by magic, when you have an internet connection it will sync them back into a folder and into [Old] Lightroom on your home computer.  This is the full size file, plus any Lightroom edits you might have applied on the device you were using while away.  It also syncs to any other devices running Lightroom Mobile (e.g. phone or tablet), so you can see the images on any of your devices.

I've tested the various scenarios this afternoon, after spending an hour and a half with Adobe technical support working out why it wasn't allowing me to sync collections from Lightroom Classic CC to Lightroom CC.  They solved that, after remotely taking over my computer and it is now working really well.  It may require an upgrade to the photography plan as existing users have a limiting 20 Gigabytes of storage allocated in the cloud.  I don't think that is going to be enough for the safari!  

So I'm a convert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.