Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fallen in Fog

Got myself up early enough to see an owl fly in front of me as I turned onto the road down to the motorway.  The last minute plan was to be up at The Roaches in the Peak District for sunrise.

I needn't have rushed.  Heavy fog covered the area and didn't lift until 2 hours later.  Still it was great fun clambering under, up and over the gritstone ridge.  When the fog started to disperse I was flying the drone, which at least allowed me to see over the fog banks to blue sky above.  I hastily landed it, after taking a couple of panoramic images (see extra), before concentrating on the swirling mist as it first revealed the view down to Hen Cloud (another extra) and then blanketed it again.  It was really enjoyable hour or so before the fog lifted into cloud and blacked the sun.

In the end I chose this fallen tree as my post for the day.  I just loved the eerie atmosphere created by the fog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.