Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh, those eyes...

In general, I find animal eyes just mesmerizing.  Some more so than others, and the fox is most definitely high on my list of "Most Beautiful Eyes".  This photo is not what I started out to get today, but is, instead, and example of what happens when preparation meets opportunity.

I put a dish of live meal worms out for the titmice and set myself up on the deck with a clear view of the mealies.  I had in mind to get a shot of one of the titmice with a meal worm in its beak - thought it would be a cute shot, something to make you all laugh.  Then, through the deck rails, I saw a flash of reddish fur.  Fox!  Now, the dilemma was that there was a big bunch of deck railing between my and the subject, along with a bushy cherry tree.  What to do?  I crept to the edge of the deck, and hung out over the railing, hoping the fox would travel it's usual route which would bring it alongside the deck.  Sure enough, everything fell into place.  The fox was about 20 feet away when it looked up and caught my eye. I held my breath and clicked away.  It watched me for a good 30 seconds before sprinting into the wooded area next to the deck.  This is cropped to give a good look at that beautiful face and ... those eyes.

I haven't seen the fox around for several weeks, so it was nice to see it today.  It doesn't bode very well for the chipmunks, mice and squirrels, I'm afraid.  But everyone must eat and very soon, this fox will most likely be feeding babies.  

I've also posted a black-and-white version of this shot HERE on Flickr.  I kind of like the monotone treatment - but welcome comments/suggestions.  

It's beautiful today, about 60F and sunny, although a bit windier than I'd like.  Hubs has a conference call but when he's off the phone, we'll go out for a quick mile.  Dinner tonight with some good friends.  Thai food and good conversation - what could be better?

Oh, and I got my new glasses today!  I'm not sure how I like the second pair as I'm not all that keen on the transition lenses , but I know I should wear sunglasses when I'm out to protect my eyes, so I'm committed to giving it a good try.  

xo,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.