Golden Glass

Spent the day in Reguengos (larger town around 20 minutes away), getting the car serviced. Found a great place, which is always a relief when you move somewhere new, and Duarte even cleaned all the Saharan mud off the outside and polished the inside as well - shame about the chemicals, but guess they'll wear off... The photo is of a wall opposite - the golden hour can make even broken glass on an industrial estate beautiful.

Got a shock when a girl suddenly banged on my side of the car, but it was only to hand me an orange zinnia for International Women's Day. I have always been glad to be a girl/woman, and grateful for parents that never made me feel I was anything less because I was female. Am also hugely grateful for two courageous, strong and passionate daughters. But I do grieve for all the oppression of girls and women around the world - and hope I can make a difference somehow to them, if only by living my life bravely. And I do believe that even the broken ones can shine beauty when the golden light touches them...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.