The Curse....

...of the commute.

Our roads and network systems are getting worse and worse every year, I see it well with my long commute. We all rely on motorways so much when there is an accident on one the surrounding roads also grind to a halt.

Today the M6 was closed around junction 15 with huge tailbacks. I have an alternative route which takes me up a parallel dual carriage way but unfortunately this has big repairs and modifications being made to it. This leaves me with cross country alternatives, I am lucky that I have cycled these lanes for many years so I know a lot of short cuts and ways to avoid traffic. 
The only problem with these small roads is that they are being left unmaintained growing big potholes and huge floods appearing on them when it rains. 

Today my one hour commute was turned into a two hour drive but I will count my blessing as a friend of mine was on the M6 and his hour and twenty minutes turned into nearly five hours.

Can I retire yet? Pleeeeeaaaase

This evening was better on the commute front as I stopped at a mate's house and he drove.

We met up with his girlfriend, my boss and his wife to go and see the new wolverine film Logan, It wasn't as good as some of the latest marvel films but was good cheap entertainment, plus we had a nice meal before. Yes I was the gooseberry ;)

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.