Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Past their best

Aquafit and - joy of joys - the pool was fairly empty this morning and I got a few lengths in. But actually, I'm probably better just skulking around near the steps or stomping around at the shallow end. The notice says the pool is 29°, which sounds rather pleasant. But it's positively cool.

During the lesson I floated off out of my depth, with the dumbells - is it still all right to call them that, it doesn't sound quite PC - supposedly kicking to the deep end. But when I kick I DO NOT MOVE. In fact, I go backwards. I then started drifting into other people, and could do nothing to avoid them, except keep apologising. Eventually I drifted near the edge and was able to grab the bar and get back to shallower water, where I stayed.

I did my circuit in the gym too. And as I was gasping on the cross trainer after a minute, then resting and drinking water, the young woman next to me, who was pounding away on her crosstrainer, said,
'You're doing well! Keep it up.'

She had been on Level 14 for about 20 minutes! I'm on Level 0. But it was kind of her to comment.

I was delighted to find, on my return, that JR had had a spring cleaning spurt and cleaned the house from top to bottom and behind things. Glad I missed out on that! She probably had more of a work out than I had in two hours at the gym. And it was free.

Two new young folk (they met him last week) came for Archie in the afternoon. They were very excited and had been looking forward to seeing him again. They walked up Blackford Hill using the big steps!

The tulips are past their best now (aren't we all) but still look rather gorgeous in their decay. Archie liked them too.

Tracey, my Kiwi ex-physiotherapist is popping in for a neighbourly vino this evening. Acupuncture and cupping will not be mentioned...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.