A mess...

...of ripped up paper.

Someone at our art group brought in a picture they had done in the past, with ripped up magazines to create a famous painting. This was last week, so my art group decided that this week we would do something similar.

I had this idea I was going to do Caspar David Friedrich's Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wanderer_above_the_Sea_of_Fog

I have always liked this painting ever since I saw it in an old art book when I was a child.

But I over reached myself for the time scale I had which was barely a couple of hours. Mine was A3 sized, double the A4 size or less the rest of the art group did. I came home with only half the background done...

I was tired when I got home. I am still struggling to hear with this readjustment of the mapping that was done on my processor on Monday. It is still scrambling my head. I cannot hear at all in groups of people...yet. I have to assume I/my brain will re adjust. Fell asleep as soon as I got in.

I woke up and it was dark. It was either finish this picture or bin it. Believe me, the bin it option was the most attractive one...

But I made a cuppa and began ripping up small pieces of magazines and glueing them on. I have finished just in time before midnight to post my picture for today, which is my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

I am literally buried here in pieces of ripped up paper. No way am I tidying up tonight. The place can stay in a mess.

Although I am glad I finished this picture because it always has had an emotional meaning for me, there is no way in earth am I ripping up small pieces from colour magazines again to create another picture. It is blinking hard work, and frustrating...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.