Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Basking In The Glow

I had an early morning.  It started with an appointment with my nephrologist.  Everything about my kidneys were stable.  My filtration rate is 39%, up a tick from last quarter.

Getting there, though, was a nightmare.  Having driven on the interstate to Tucson recently, I expected long delays. Just 10 km from home the traffic became bumper-to-bumper for the next 12 km.  (I-19 is the only interstate highway in the US marked in kilometers.)

What really threw me off was the unexpected  construction.  There are only two exits I know will get me there.  As I got closer to them, overhead signs flashed that both  ramps were closed.  Completely befuddled, I needed every minute of the two hours I gave myself to get there.

I finally stopped for much needed groceries on the way home.  I was down to a couple cans of beans, soup, rice, half a box of spaghetti and a can of tuna.  Stuffed Portabella mushrooms for dinner tonight with fresh pineapple for dessert!

Iditarod Update:  Mitch Seavey is still in the lead.  Women are in 2nd and 3rd, about 3.5 hours behind.  However, Seavey hasn't taken his mandatory 8 hour layover yet.  Stay tuned or go to www.iditarod.com to get up-to-date standings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.