One of Our Islands is Missing ...

10.0C starting with smir then clearing to unexpected brightness through the afternoon. Moderate SSE breeze with gusts to 30 mph then SSE/ESE/SE light breeze in the afternoon.

Maeve the Deerhound woke sometime between 4 and 5am. She was told to go back to bed. She did. We got to sleep through to the alarm clock.

Salmon fillets from the fish shop today by request of Apothecary7.

After lunch Maeve and I went for the repeat of the morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. There were some fishing boats at the old quay and the small ship I saw yesterday was at the linkspan side of the new quay. M30 (HMS Ledbury), a Hunt-class mine countermeasures vessel of the Royal Navy, was still in the loch. Low cloud further out was hiding Davaar island completely. I had found the file for a podcast which describes a walk in Kilmartin Glen on my PC this morning so I had loaded that on the Clip for a listen as we walked. I could easily visualise the places being described.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. I went round past Aquilibrium and had a wander round the old quay. Then I went on round the harbour and along the little park by the ferry terminal and out Kilkerran road to Glenramskill House then I came back. I enjoyed walking in the sunshine again having expected it to be dull and smirry from the forecast I had seen in the morning.

Further out in the loch I could see M111 (HMS Blyth), a Sandown-class minehunter of the British Royal Navy. When I got out as far as the Goldsmith's studio I could see there were men out in small inflatable boats near the NATO fuel jetty so I imagine some sort of exercise was in progress. I came back along the street side of the park and came home through town passing the town hall and the bookshop (closed). By the time I was back to the park the cloud had cleared and Davaar island was visible again.

Podcasts of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs on the Clip (as I walked):
Dame Judi Dench CH DBE FRSA. English actress and author.
Emma Thomson. British actress, activist, author, comedienne and screenwriter.

Afternoon music ... Runrig, The Story. The Band From Rockall, eponymous.

DMC-LX7 f/3.2 1/2000 sec. ISO-80 8mm (35mm focal length 43mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.