Bomble likes a scratch

Bomble was a 'rescue cat' when we found him back in June 2006. We fell in love with his friendliness and his extremely soft fur. We think he was about three years old at that time, which makes him at least fourteen years old now, but he may be older.

When younger he loved climbing up any high place, running to the top of an erected tall step ladder when he first entered our house, and wanting to go into our attic. But his health has had a few ups and downs and he has lost his two famous fangs as well as other teeth. We think he is also arthritic and he sometimes looks as creaky as I occasionally feel going down stairs.

But today he was a spring chicken.  I walked into the back garden having fed him his tea and within minutes he came to join me as always used to do. After brushing up against my legs he found some leaves still drifting in the breeze, chased them and then took off up the garden and jumped on to the trunk of the rhus tree, where the bird feeders are, and rushed to the very top branches. He turned and looked at me as if wanting congratulations for his  friskiness.

I continued down the garden with him descending to follow me and decided to stretch his spine and scratch his toenails at the same time on this old tree stump. It wasn't long before he took off at high speed back up the garden and then up and onto the wooden fence to take up one of his guard positions. Within ten minutes he was back inside and in his warm bed and heading for a snooze. I love him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.