CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The old door in the garden wall of The Lawn

The rain stopped after lunch and before watching some international rugby on tv I went to buy some supplies for our supper. I chose a supermarket on the far side of town and driving along Cainscross Road I had the idea of visiting the old lake near the canal formerly part of a rather grand house called The Lawn.

On my way home I parked nearby and walked around the lake and down to the canal. The whole area was made into a community greenspace in 2012 by Stroud Community Land Trust using the 'former pleasure gardens of a long lost Victorian mansion' called The Lawn. The house was 'sacrificed' in the 1960s to build a new road as the first link of the new Ebley bypass built to relieve traffic through the old hamlets of Ebley and Cainscross. 

The lake in the pleasure garden was left and being uncared for it became overgrown. The old eastern wall also survived within the wooded lake area. When I passed by I liked this shadowy light across the lake shining on the old door and frame. I think the door was replaced by the Land Trust as it has a rather interesting added proud pattern of carved leaves on branches, which you might just be able to make out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.