Rolls Royce

I've been to an absolutely Rolls Royce of an event about Scotland's options in the context of Brexit, organised by the Faculty of Advocates. I didn't expect to stay all day, but I did in the end. Perhaps unsurprising, since it had the Minister, an Advocate General, several high quality academic speakers, and a bunch of interesting people in the audience including MSPs, MPs, and lots of Edinburgh lawyers. There was a reception at the end, which I did skip. I've become a touch reception-phobic in recent times, and decided against this one partly because I knew that if I went along I would probably drink bad wine and get a taxi home. As it was, I managed not to consume anything daft all day, and walk both to the Royal Mile and back again, making up for missing steps earlier in the week. I also wanted to spend a bit of timing thinking about the implications of what I'd heard for the paper that I'm writing, and there was a good opportunity to do that as I walked home.

Now home and getting ready to watch the rugby, and thinking about going for a walk tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.