Male Kuaka in supplemental plumage

The day started as yesterday had finished; heavy rain and strong winds. However, by mid morning, both had stopped, and I took the Pentax and my lovely new 55 - 300 lens and went down the steps to Southend of Snells Beach.

I anticipated that there may be some dotterels as the tide was about right to be just uncovering the mudflats. More or less immediately I saw some medium sized waders in the distance, and as I approached I realised they were the tail enders of the kuaka migration to the northern hemisphere. While taking some photos, I realised that there were also some dotterels; four New Zealand Dotterel (Tuturiwhatu)were running around. As I moved back toward the shore, what I took to be a couple more tuturiwhatu flew in. I walked towards them and took one photo of one of the newcomers, before heading on around the headland, for a longer walk and jog.

Looking at my photos after I got back I realised that one (at least) of the kuaka is in the supplemental or alternative plumage, which males get just prior to flying away, and the females develop on the trip north. The male (which has a shorter and all grey black bill) is today's blip.

I also saw that the later arrival was not another tuturiwhatu, but the slightly larger (with longer legs and longer bill) Large Sand Plover. That is one of the extras, and a tuturiwhatu is the other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.