shakesmyteeth

By shakesmyteeth

Calle Martin Delgado, Cartagena, Spain

Every day we would pass this street en route from the hotel to the city, I knew I couldn't leave without trying to capture it.

I think this is the barrio that got flattened because of the state of disrepair of the housing.

In a parallel street, in a ground floor garage, we heard a band playing, it was bewitching music, I had to have a look. There were ragged curtains hung over the entrance, I took a peak inside. It was an makeshift church, with rows of empty white plastic chairs. At the front of the room were two singers, a man and a woman, swaying from side to side to the beat of the unseen drummer. I think they were singing some Christian worship songs in a North African language. I wish I had taped a bit to play you...it was like nothing I'd heard in a church before and so unexpected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.