Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Apple Market

Walking a very familiar neighbourhood, the Mission, again, but I continue to see things that are new or somewhat new to me. I have walked past this (what appears to be defunct) market countless times. It's immediately adjacent to the BART station at 16th Street and Mission, and as it can be a rather dicey area in which to linger, I tend to pass on by incuriously. Today, however, I stopped to take a few photos of this storefront, as well as the taco bar next door, which has some beautiful artwork on its facade, a little of which you can see at the left of this photo. I'm not sure if the fact that it was closed down was what attracted me, or the sign, or the tagging on the door, but for some reason, it seemed new to me.

For the first time in quite a while, I took my Rolleicord camera with me as it was a pretty bright day and I had ISO 100 colour film in the camera. I fashioned my walking route so as to wind up at Photoworks to drop off my film. Photoworks used to be located no more than a hundred steps from my building, but due to a spike in rent (which also precipitated the closing of a liquor store next to it), moved a couple of blocks up the street.

Bonus: the pigeon atop the sign.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.