Marshalling

First thing this morning I went over to Vogrie Country Park, which had its first "Parkrun". It has been organised by a member of our club so we were called upon to help. In the end there wasn't anything specific for me to do, other than support the runners, so I also tried to take photos. We had over 250 runners and since it's on trails rather than tarmac I might have a go some day. 

Back home I saw the end of Miss K's football match where her team (from a nearby town) beat Penicuik Athletic's U15 girls, some of whom are class-mates. She was so pleased to have the bragging rights on Monday!

This evening I was marshalling for "The Mighty Deerstalker" around Innerleithen. It's the sort of trail race with obstacles that I'd never want to do myself, particularly as it's done in the dark [see extra] but it was fun to encourage the runners as they passed me near the top of the first big climb and, thankfully, no-one was injured on my section. I was also paid £75 for doing it, which I hadn't anticipated, setting it further apart form my previous experience of racing and marshalling. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.