Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Confused dot com

ItI've posted on the subject of colour blindness before but that post simply attempted to illustrate how people with colour blindness see the world differently. A concept that it much harder to explain is the inability to identify/name a colour.; let me explain. I recently brought a desk lamp for the study. The study is blue and I wanted a lamp that met my needs and matched the colour scheme. I was in the DIY store looking at the lamps and the lamp that I was interested in was available in 3 colours, white, black and something else that I had no clue about. It's not that I can't see the colour, if you put it against 20 other colours, I could identify that all 20 are different but I couldn't tell you what it was. Consider this example, grass is green, I know because I've been told so. Ditto for one of the coloured balls on a snooker table. This gives me a point of reference. Now look at the picture in my blip. Apparently all of these colours are green as well but only some of them match or are close to the colour of grass or a green snooker ball. My problem is that I cannot relate a hue of a colour to the colour of which it is a hue of. The lamp that I did purchase is apparently turquoise  which I am told is a form of green. How the hell can that be green - it couldn't be further removed from the colour of grass or a green snooker ball if it tried. Not sure that anyone who is not colour blind will get it but that's what I have to deal with - I see many colours but not all, but of those I do see, I can only name those that match the obvious hues, e.g. green, yellow and pink on a snooker table - forget red and brown, I'm lost there and ditto for anything that deviates from these reference points :-)

Lived up to my promise last night and was caught napping during the concert. I blame a poor nights sleep and too much wine but I still fared better than Mick who is a little hard of hearing and referred to the group 'The New Amen Corner ' who by the way were very good (Bend and Shape Me if you want a sample track) as 'Hymen Corner'. It would have been funny under any circumstance but was even more so given that he really believed this was the band's name. He clearly doesn't get around much.

Went out at 12:00 to buy Diana some shoes. Didn't get back until 9 in the evening as we ended up calling in on Sue and Andrew and I somehow managed to help Andrew empty two bottles of wine. Sue made us dinner, an impromptu pasta dish and I think I made her day by stating that it was on of the best pasta dishes I have ever had and I mean it, it's up there in the top 5.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.