The Quick Spider And The Dead Fly

More bugs about by the day. I got bees, wasps, butterflies, shield bugs, beetles and spiders. This zebra jumping spider had just caught a fly for brunch. I love the way these little spiders interact with humans, it's because of this that they got their scientific name Salticus scenicus which translates to theatrical jumper. :) I also photographed a smaller and darker jumping spider on the south-facing number thirteen glasshouse wall, probably Pseudeuophrys lanigera.

Today's poem is from The Cloud by Percy Bysshe Shelley.https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/45117

The poem was written soon after Shelley received the news that his two-year-old daughter, Elena, had died. It's about the cycle of nature. People often look to the skies when bereaved and I think most of us have enjoyed looking up at the clouds. I like the personification of the cloud..     
 

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.