Northern Star

By Lifferz

New York, New York

I managed to make it to New York and this time my experience at JFK was not horrendous. Driving from the airport with a taxi driver who is obviously in training to take on the Stig was somewhat exhilerating. The hotel had my booking- bonus!

Went up 42nd street for an evening stroll and got some shots of the Chrysler building which I love and Grand Central Station. I got as far as 2nd Avenue and wanted to get to the water which is quite nearby but suddenly I seemed to be all alone so I decided to head back. On the way back I got to see the lobby of Chrysler and it is amazing....very art deco/nouveau...wonderful marble pictures of aeroplanes around the ceiling. The doors were amazing too and no one seemed to be the faintest bit interested in them or the lobby.

Went to Times Square which was bright and bold. I'd not call it a square as such, rather a large pedestrian area which I was pleased to have seen but won't race back to anytime soon as it was mega crowded. I found a lovely place called Bryant Park- which I may pop back to it ...it looked kind of Parisian and out of place in a great way.

I'm going to try and get myself to the Met Museum tomorrow if I can work out how to get there. I'd also like to get down to the water and maybe see the Statue of Liberty. Depending on how clear it is I will go up Rockerfeller and get the obligitory skyscrapper shots. This chappy was playing some amazing music acompanied by his mate on a keyboard. I'd already chucked them some coins and he was really in my face afterwards. I had to lean away from him in order to get the shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.