On Some Days

By V1k1

Sublime

This morning dawned calm and the reflections in the deep water were magical.  This is the son in law paddling over to a water fall.  He has taken some amazing photos on this trip.  As most of you know he is my technical adviser and suggested I buy a Fuji when I had learned to take my Canon G10 off auto.  I watched him on this trip and I think he composes the shot in his head before taking it.  
The extra is along the side of our boat showing the rugged mountains of Fiordland in the distance and what a sunny day we had.  Most of the day was spent walking to and exploring at the Puysegur Point Lighthouse. (extra)  It is a name I know from the marine weather forecast.  Early in the morning the radio has the marine forecast and we are such a small country they read the weather for our whole coast line.  It is one of the most inaccessible and isolated lighthouses in NZ. A much taller light stood here and was first lit in 1879.  It was burnt down in 1943 and this 5 meter/ 18ft one replaced it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.