Today's Special

By Connections

Autumn Jewels, Scottish Link

After spending most of the day on genealogy again, I felt the need to get out into the early autumn sunshine, so Phil and I walked up into the undeveloped land above our little neighborhood in search of wild blackberries mid-afternoon -- with our cameras, of course.

I picked a total of nine blackberries, preferring to play with photos of backlit spider webs flaunting feathery seedheads, late afternoon sunlight on blooming weeds, and other delights. Phil, more dedicated to the task, picked a substantial number of fine berries, which we'll enjoy with vanilla ice cream later and on our cereal in the morning.

I spotted these rowan berries just off the path on my way down toward home. The delicate tracery of the curled stems and the bright red berries made me think of Scandinavian design, which I like very much. When I sat down after supper to write my blip, I realized that the image reminded me even more of the work of Orkney jewelry designer Ola Gorie.

Phil gave me a pair of earrings designed by her some years ago, a very special gift. When I went to Ola Gorie's website today to see her recent work, I was struck by the way this brooch had echoes of my photo for today.

Maybe someday I'll go to Kirkwall and visit The Longship, the shop where her jewelry is sold -- ideally during the annual Orkney Fine Wine Festival in June!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.