West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Old and modern

A day of waiting. This morning I went to the hospital for anti-rabies injection number four. Colombo General hospital is huge and was very busy. I had to wait a while but once I was seen by the doctor everything was straightforward. Probably because I’ve been to four different hospitals for the injections each doctor I’ve seen has asked me what happened and checked the treatment recommended by the other hospitals.

After the hospital I went to the immigration office to extend my visa. The final injection is due in 2 weeks and I’ve decided it’s better to get it here where I now know how the system works than to go to another country and have to figure out how to get the final one. Besides, there’s a lot of Sri Lanka that I haven’t seen yet!

The visa office was very busy. It took an hour and a half of waiting (sitting on the floor because there were no seats available) before I could even submit my application for a visa extension. Then another hour and a half before my number was called to go and pay for the extension and another 45 minutes before I got my passport back. But although it felt like it took forever, I got the visa extension. I just need to remember to change my flight now!


After all that, I really needed to see something that wasn’t an office. So I got a tuk tuk to the Fort area. My blip is of the Port Authority building with the harbour behind it. I know the ship my Grandfather worked on stopped in Colombo at least once in the late 1940s. I wonder if he walked out of this building into the city...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.