West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Sunset from Galle Fort

This morning I took the train from Colombo to Galle. I’ve taken four trains in Sri Lanka and all of them have been more than an hour late. This one was packed when it arrived in Colombo and I had to stand for the first half of the journey. I’m going back to the bus – that was on time and everyone had a seat!


I’m staying in the Fort area which is made up of historic Dutch colonial buildings and is a little bit like walking into a tropical version of Europe. Many of the buildings are now family run guest houses and there are also lots of shops selling souvenirs, art and jewellery. There are huge groups of Sri Lankan school children in pristine white school uniforms on trips to visit the Fort area. And as it cools down in the late afternoon the walls of the Fort are where everyone – locals and tourists – walk and enjoy the amazing views of the sea and the sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.