All a bit scary ....!

I have been asked to play for the funeral of the father of a friend on Thursday. I am not an organist and the only funeral I've ever played for was Mum's as she requested it.

As I was on holiday last week, the only day that was available for me to see how the organ works and play through the hymns was today. 

I drove to the crematorium in Wrexham where I was due to meet one of the organists. I got there ridiculously early as there are roadworks on the A5 so was afraid of being late. I ate sandwiches in my car and watched a pair of jays mooching about in the trees.

I met the organist (he said that I could sit by him on the organ seat while he played for a funeral).

We got in and he showed me how to turn it on and which controls to use. I had time to try a few bars of the first hymn when I had to stop as the people were coming in.

He said that I could have a play afterwards so I opened the hymn book but was immediately told that the next group were coming in.

I can't go and have a play tomorrow as I'm out all day and the funeral is on the following day. I've not tried the organ properly and I also have to work the cd player for when the funeral  party file out (no time to try that either). 

It would be an understatement to say that I'm very apprehensive! I would hate to be the one to spoil the funeral.

The crematorium is in beautiful grounds which originally belonged to Pentrebychan Hall and Offa's Dyke footpath runs through it. My blip is of the dovecote there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.