Spot the difference!

Today my art group attended a watercolour workshop at Little Wenlock with a nationally known visiting tutor.

We were given a ready printed picture and step by step instructions  (which brush, which  colour, dab it there etc), the tutor did it in small chunks and we copied him.

Although I've come away with a competent painting I found it a bit like painting by numbers and devoid of creativity. He actually took brushes and did some people's how he wanted them. Fortunately he didn't touch mine as I don't agree with taking over other people's work - it takes away ownership. Perhaps I'm not a workshop person! 

Feelings were mixed, some of the group enjoyed that approach and some of us didn't.

My blip is of our group and the tutor and our "Spot the difference" paintings.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.