Work

Not because it's interesting, just because it's the photo I took to tell Kate I'd got some more. Louis has got ze pox finally. Good to get that out the way in a one-er (Lloydie had it just previously).

Got home at a great time last night, everyone had done their chores and got their stuff ready so, I was able to make tea (quorn hotdogs & nice big hotdog rolls) and whap on epically long Titanic, which I had never seen. We all enjoyed it.

Rose asked me afterwards, when she was going to bed, "Dad, do you think anything like that could happen in real life?"
Me: "It did happen in real life!"
Me: "Oh, do you mean the love affair?"
Rose: "Yeah, like, them falling in love in a day and being so in love like that?"

So, I spent a bit of time talking about the differences between love, lust, infatuation.

Me: "But, no, pal, you have to work at that level. And it's not very common. But feeling all that can happen and it does."

Whilst this conversation was going on, I was thinking to myself 'I remember talking to dad like this, before I went to bed, trying to have deep conversations and understand the world, make sense of it all'

Then I thought; 'I'm the dad now! Shit, that's me. This is happening right now!'

OK, stop daydreaming, Kris.

In moments like that, I very often have this sensation where I imagine that I've just transported really fast to the future (from the point, say, in this instance, where I was asking my own mum or dad something) and am experiencing the moment suddenly, having just arrived.

I really like thinking like that, very enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.