Life through the lens...

By ValC

Du Maurier country

Frenchman's Creek must be the one of most romantic and peaceful places in Cornwall.
You can understand why Daphne du Maurier based her romantic story about a French pirate on this mysterious and enchanting little creek.
I don't think it will have changed much over the centuries, certainly not at this time of the year when there are no tourists. ( except for us of course)
I don't remember these daffodils being here before, but they make a lovely foreground for this photo.
We finished our walk with a shandy at the Ship Inn and then came back via Breage.
I wanted to see if I could find the graves of my 5 and 6th great grandfathers. I didn't manage to find those, but did find some 18th century graves with  the same surname. More research when I get home!
I had no idea what a beautiful church it is.
Dates from the 15th century. It has some wall paintings which are nearly 500 years old and are at the moment being restored.
Details of the paintings here.
My photo see extras.

Thank you all for your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's Poldark blip..Please forgive me as I am getting a bit behind.

Thank you to Cailleach for hosting Wild Wednesday. I thought this would suit the theme which is " wilderness".
Also thank you BobsBlips for hosting WidWeds. This is " M" for Maurier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.