wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Blackfriars

Early start today in Newcastle and I parked near Blackfriars. On my way back to the car after my meeting, I paused to look at this site which the Italian Dominican monks made their home in the early 13th century, staying until 1539. The info plaque told me that this was the largest friary in the country and is one of Newcastle's oldest surviving buildings.
The monks were nicknamed Blackfriars because they wore large black cloaks (cappa magna). They were highly educated, expert preachers and teachers and relied upon the charity of the people.
As I stood and reflected upon the history and mystery of this holy place, my phone buzzed with some really significant positive news relating to work that I had been waiting for.
Returned home and took the dogs for a lovely long walk before heading off to work again for the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.