At the Botanics

Although the forecast for Edinburgh this morning wasn't too promising we decided to visit the Botanic Gardens. As it happened we were lucky and for most of our visit it was fine.

I'd planned to go to the Alpine House as it's usually full of spring-flowering alpines in pots at this time of year. Unfortunately when we arrived the whole area was closed off for renovation, the glasshouse and frames having been completely rebuilt and the whole area repaved.

As luck would have it, my friend David, Curator of Living Collections, came along at that very moment - what sort of coincidence is that? - and introduced me to Elspeth, who's in charge of the alpine collections. She took me through all the private glasshouses behind the wall and through the building site to the Alpine House, so it turned into a wonderful morning! We finished up with a cuppa at the Terrace Cafe - well I missed that 'cos I was too busy talking! - but I was able to photograph a herring gull drinking milk from a jug on a table outside!

On the way home, as we were approaching the Connel Bridge, a fishing boat was coming through, something I've not seen before. So I had to stop to photograph that. So a few extras today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.