Bygone days

It's been a wet day from the start, so I've been sorting through some of the bits and bobs left behind by my mother after her death in 2013. For some reason I've never looked into some of these boxes and I'm amazed at some of the things that she kept, some going back to her childhood. Photographs of course - the thumbnail is me in 1949! - a receipt for their marriage licence, poetry that she'd written (that was a surprise!), poetry that I'd written (not such a surprise!), the telegram sent by my grandmother from a holiday in Shetland to say that my grandfather was in hospital after suffering a heart attack, numerous little diaries and letters that obviously meant a lot to her, address books, a birthday book and an autograph book. I was particularly moved by a poem she'd written about my dad a few years after he'd died - I had no idea she was so romantic. It will take me some time to go through it all and list everything, maybe transcribe some of the poetry.

Certainly more to my Mum than I'd thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.