Abstract Thursday- Wood Patterns

Feeling that I needed a break from the cold weather and backyard birds, I went to the Brookside Gardens Conservatory to see what flowers I might find.  I took my 90 mm lens and the Lensbaby Velvet 56.  I have been seriously thinking about selling the Velvet 56, because I have never been happy with any images I have taken with it.  I love what other people can do, but me..not so much.  I gave it one last chance.  There were more flowers in bloom than when I was there in January, but nothing of great interest.  There was however a wooden log that had interesting patterns in it.  I couldn't just leave it alone so I ran it through MacPhun Photo Studio CK and added one of the rippled glass effects and then a quad symmetry effect.  This is a cropped section of the final image.  I have loaded the original in extras.

If any of you have an iMac or MacBook, I highly recommend the MacPhun software.  The denoising software, Noiseless CK, is the best I have ever used.  It removes as much noise as you would like and leaves all the detail. It's really quite amazing.  All the software plugs into Lightroom and Photoshop, but can also be used on its own.  

BTW - I have definitely decided to sell the Lensbaby Velvet 56.  I really like the other Lensbabys that I have, but not this one.  If I really want that glowy, soft effect on my images, I can always process and get a similar effect. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.