Spied Another Jumping Spider

Firstly it's time for the LTT News. :) My busy birds are still building but haven't got the domed roof on their nest yet. I think they alternate between collecting lichen for the outside and feathers for the lining. As I said in a previous blip they need between 1500 and 2000 feathers. I pocketed some gorgeous eider down from a beautiful but stained and scruffy eiderdown which belonged to my MiL and which we have been using to cover one of the tractors. I strewed it over the brambles not far from my long-tailed-tits' nest. Hope they choose to use it, it's softer than soft. 

Sorry blippers, another jumping spider, I know they're not that popular. This one is very tiny, much smaller than an ordinary black ant. I think it looks nice and cuddly. These spiders associate with humans and are found in buildings and houses. It was on the glasshouse wall but the last one I photographed was indoors. They're partial to book mites.

Today's poem is from In Memorium A.H.H. CXV by Alfred, Lord Tennyson. http://www.victorianweb.org/authors/tennyson/im/115.html

This is just a small part of a very long poem which I haven't read. It was written as a requiem for Tennyson's dear friend Arthur Henry Hallam who died of a cerebral hemorrhage. One of the most quoted lines from it is "Nature, red in tooth and claw." Section 115 expresses how the coming of spring can give hope in the place of despair.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.