Marygold

By Marygold

Past, Present and Future

Wandering around the town this morning I came upon the idea of street signs and street furniture. Many museums have the old metal signs for Cadbury's chocolate, or Colmans mustard which I really like as a kind of social comment on advertising in the past. These signs show the general history of the town which is equally interesting. I suppose I'd be faced with taking pictures of the hoarding at bus stops which seem less attractive but still provide a social comment on the time. Maybe I'll follow this idea for a while and see if it comes to anything.
Social commentary through pictures, observations and text caught my imagination after reading an extract from The Road to Wigan Pier. The close observation and pace of the writing made me wonder if this is a style I could work on developing. I wonder if there's a local writer's group where I can go and perhaps learn the art.

Tomorrow has some interesting potential as I'm meeting my MP so ask some questions. This might give me some material to start me off. I need to ensure my ideas are developed enough to make the most of the opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.