Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Pruning #2

Another relaxed start to the day. I decided to get my haircut. It was much needed as I was beginning to look like a rebel. G had mentioned picking up some tomatoes to make dal on my way back, so I parked up and started to make my way to the hypermarket.

I turned the corner to find this sight... loads of branches on the pavement and a man up a tree cutting off branches very efficiently. It was really quite impressive considering he didn't even have a chain saw. Huge queues in the hypermarket so I abandoned the idea and returned home.

G has this thing about barbeques. She goes on about them (or lack of thereof) and often refers to the time when my dad was still with us and we had barbeques in the winter, so today, very spontaneously, we decided to have one. Not a great deal of food involved (a burger each), and we got a cheap throw away grill which was ready to cook in twenty minutes (time was short), so off we went to the desert (see extra). There was a pleasant cool breeze, in fact, it's been windy all day, which gave us a beautifully clear evening. It was great to see the skyline all lit up.

We came home via Dunkin' Donuts. Earlier in the afternoon, we had watched a news clip of two senators (one Republican and one Democrat) who live-streamed their road trip from Texas to Washington last week. They shared a hire car when flights got cancelled because of the snow. There was one scene where they had a box of donuts. Well, we just had to have one! :)

Have a good weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.