pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

RIP Bozli 2001 - 2017

We knew today would be the day, but that didn't make it any easier. I took the cowards way out and went to work. Jon took Bozli to a vet in Holt, who kindly put him to sleep. It was the kindest thing. Long pause. Sigh. Deep breath.

As I said earlier in the week, I am not a dog person, but Bozli was an uncomplicated, undemanding and hugely obedient dog. He was clever, and often gave disapproving looks to Bracken, who joined us to become his dog brother when Boz was 6. He accepted this lively, overexcited interloper with grace, as he did everything.

In recent years, he has become slower, and more smelly. He was as greedy as ever, until a week ago, and frustratingly caused me extra work. But it would appear that in my own way, I must have loved him, as he has caused me (not just me) to shed a fair few tears today. Emotion from, what I think is the fact that a final link with our old life, a final flame, has been snuffed out. Time to properly move on.

I couldn't find a decent photo. He wasn't up to it this morning. So this was 2011. On a holiday in Norfolk, walking down our lane. I just quite like it. Mollie can take the credit for the picture. 

I think he had a good life. We will miss him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.