If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Letter day!

Yesterday while  I was up in Edinburgh Clickychick had a Red Squirrel on the bird table and got good shots.  Jealous me - I would say so. They were reasonably regular visitors 7 years ago since then they have only occasionally visited us. 

Today CC signalled there was something interesting in the garden.   The squirrel was back on the bird table.  We took a great many shots and then CC decided she would try a shot through the open front door rather than a rain soaked window.  I didn't hold out much hope but she quietly opened the door managed some shots and closed it again without scaring it.

While she was doing that I saw a movement which I thought going by the colour would be the cock pheasant.  Glancing in that direction I realised I was wrong.  Another squirrel!  This is a shot through a rain soaked window of it gathering up dropped bird seed in the Irises under the feeders.

Two squirrels is a first and they stayed on and off for about 2 hours.  Into the Hills was right when he said a feeder would make all the difference, it has  However the squirrels don't seem to have touched it, it must just act as a sign post :-)).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.