If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wire Tensioner.

The forecast was for snow but the morning was bright and sunny.  we decided to pop out looking for blips before the possible snow.  We headed out towards the Carrock/Blencathra fells.

A tree on the skyline caught our eye so we stopped for some shots.  It was blowing the proverbial hooley and very cold.  After taking my shots of the tree (I am always more quickly satisfied with my shots than CC) my eye fell on the fence by the road.  The gate post and the main post every few yards was slate rather than wood.

The gate post had these tensioners so that when it was erected the wires could be drawn taught.  The corroded metal against the weathered stone and lichens appealed to me.  The extra is the post itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.