Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Some pig

She didn't say anything else. In the creative universe it is but a tiny step to move from fly one day to spider the next. No I didn't bust a gut for this since I've had a phone glued to my ear for most of the day. I did try something a bit different by persuading my long suffering assistant to lower a piece of white paper behind the web but all that did was produce a spider against a white background instead of the green here that I thought marginally more appealing.

I'd like to be photographing the ocean crashing on rocks but when you live in Woking and don't get out much you have to be thankful for small mercies.

If Charlotte here had any thoughts on this, she didn't elaborate much on her earlier remark, just hung there deliberating on the absurdity of the idea that there could be anything less than nothing.

It seems to me that blipping insects is a bit like train spotting, knocking off species as I come to them, ignoring ones I've already blipped unless they're doing something particularly interesting like killing or eating each other, having sex or laying eggs.

But when it's a blippers' favourite (i.e damselfly, dragonfly, butterfly) that isn't yet in the bag, like the southern hawker that patrolled the garden for a while this afternoon, the urgency to get the image winds up a few notches. It just wouldn't stay still, taking little flies on the wing. It did occur to me - despicable thought, I know - that were I to net it, kill it and pin it on a leaf, it might make things a bit easier. In fact a few stuffed animals might come in handy to spice up those garden nature shots. Must look up T for taxidermy in the Yellow Pages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.