Davaar Island

9.5C starting with rain clearing about lunchtime then bright and sunny through the afternoon. Moderate WNW/W breeze with gusts to 30 mph.

Apothecary7 and a colleague drove up to Glasgow yesterday evening and are at a Boots "Lets Connect" today. They will drive back this evening.

Maeve the Deerhound woke up at 2am, then at 4am. I persuaded her to go back to her bed. When the alarm went off and I got up I discovered that either she had tried to wake me up again and I hadn't heard her or that I should have taken her out at 4am. Oh joy. We went for a walk.

I went for the grocery shopping at the usual time. Maeve stayed home. When I came back she didn't come to see me. She was lying in the living room looking very sorry for herself.

Maeve and I went for a walk after lunch when it was much brighter. We wandered slowly round to the harbour, had a potter round the old quay, then went along past the ferry terminal to the park. The fishing boats were all tied up at the old quay and the cargo vessel Nordic is at the new quay. We walked out as far as the cemetery where I had a seat on a bench and Maeve stood beside me. After the last two or three days of rain I made sure to absorb the view out to the island. I could sit and look out for hours. I am sure it is a view I will never tire of. The sea was lovely shades of blue and green with the sun out and we could see Arran clearly today. I didn't stay for too long because I noticed Maeve's hips dropping and her back legs getting lower. She did seem quite happy though, just can't stand for as long as she used to ... which was a long time! .  We came back along the street side of the park and came home through town passing the town hall and the bookshop (closed).

Podcasts of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs on the Clip (as I walked):
Brian Aldiss. English writer and anthologies editor, best known for science fiction novels and short stories.
Richard Madeley. English television presenter, journalist, columnist and novelist.

Afternoon music ... BBC Radio2.

E-PL5 f/10 1/400 sec. ISO-200 18mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.