Woodpecker heading for a feed

I have been very slow today, and enjoyed doing rather less than normal. I sat from 7am at the dining room table drinking tea, then my first coffee and with porridge to follow.

I sat watching the birds and then before my coffee went out to top up both the suet and the sunflower feeders, as the cold morning air was attracting lots of avian friends.

I saw three woodpeckers visit the rhus tree from which the feeders hang, sometimes with two of them clinging to the trunk only inches apart. I picked up my camera, which had very little battery charge left, and without my long zoom lens, and pointed it through the double glazing. I keep trying to catch woodpeckers in flight to observe the wonderful patterns of their wing feathers when fully spread out I got the flight alright in the gloom but managed to do so without any wings showing at all.

Keep trying will be my motto.  I will have more time now, which I'm really looking forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.