CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Early sun shining on snowy Golden Valley slopes

I rose before 7am and before making the essential cup of tea I looked out of my study window and saw another layer of snow had fallen overnight. Once I had a steaming cup of tea in hand I returned to my desk and saw the sun was beginning to break through the cloud cover, with near horizontal beams of light shining onto the north facing slopes of the Golden Valley. It is formed by the River Frome which flows here from left to right, towards its confluence with the River Severn  at Framilode, about seven miles downstream.

The houses illuminated by this light are in the village of Butterow, near to a combe in a spot called Montserratt. The next door hamlet is Bagpath. I love these names. The sun was like a searchlight briefly strafing the copses, meadows and homes.

This light changed very quickly and within a short while the clouds had regained control. The snow has begun to melt and by tomorrow may be gone, as the nromal temperature at this tie of year is nearly springlike and it will be the Spring Equinox tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.