The Best Community?

The theme for Monomonday today is community - and what better place to celebrate the joy and support of a good community than with Fellow Blippers at the Photography Show in Birmingham.  I couldn't possibly comment on why DaveC and AnnieMay felt it was necessary of kneel before BlackTulip but I suppose there must be a reason.  We sort of chatted, refreshed ourselves a couple of times during the day and wandered off doing our own thing in between times.  We were pleased to meet up with Graham Colling at the start of the day and it was good to put a face to the name.  He performed some mysterious manoeuvres with a strange little gadget and I am looking forward to seeing the results.  In attendance were BlackTulip and her trusty wingman JJ, me and my wingman SHH, (JDO calls then wingmen, I don't know why),Loosecanon, Technophobe, AnnieMay, Igor, Lucky Lady, StevenG, DaveC, KenPetch and Graham.  Apologies if I've got names wrong or missed someone off the list.  

We all seemed to be looking for slightly different things but it was interesting to talk about what we were all finding out and sharing our hopes and dreams - just like all good communities.

I have been contemplating the desire for a more easily portable camera.  I've gone back to my Bridge camera for the last few weeks but have found that what I want from a camera has changed since I first acquired that, so decided that I needed to look for something slightly more flexible.  So  you can see my birthday present for myself for tomorrow in the extras.  I have ordered an extra lens too but that needs to come from Gloucester and the manager of the shop will phone me to confirm when it will be in his possession, all following and interesting conversation with the man from Olympus.  It was much easier to have decent conversations with the people on the stalls this afternoon as the show began to empty a little.

We even went to a talk about Lightroom.  Further illumination needed.  Interestingly too, following our little community conversations today, the Royal Photographic Society has a few more members and we have an extra segway rider for the Compton Verney Blipmeet on 12 April!

How many communities could boast that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.