Cedric

A few weeks ago we had a call from a stranger looking for Jacinta to re-home a collection of recorders and recorder music that had belonged to a recently deceased friend of his.  Today as I was close by after a visit to Jamie's school,  I called in to collect the bequest and met Cedric, the only member of a quartet of friends who played together for many years who can still play.  Born profoundly deaf, he learned recorder at 18 and later the Viola too.  He proudly played his favourite, a bass recorder which he has had since his postgrad days at Cambridge, but had not played since 2013.  Here he has moved on to a Treble, one size down from the ubiquitous descant.  On discovering that I learnt the treble for a year in 2014, he insisted we duet, playing Silent Night, the only tune I could remember!

Having expected a short visit to take the bequest off his hands, I found myself enchanted by this charming man and 90 minutes passed very quickly.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.